Home > science fiction > The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

June 16, 2008

I had never read this book before. I’ve seen the BBC TV series, I’ve seen the movie. I’ve read the third and fourth books in the series, but never the first two. I can’t explain why, it just worked out that way.

The Hitchhikers Guide is a lot more serious than I had expected from the other media adaptations. Especially the character of Zaphod. The man who is an enigma, even to himself. That really didn’t come through in television or movie. Funnily enough the Zaphod who did come through was the same as the one I encountered in Life, The Universe and Everything, and So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.

Not here, though. In the first book, the character of Zaphod… jarred. Jarred with my understanding of who this character was. It was odd to be surprised in this way. Zaphod – serious and introspective.

On the other hand, Marvin had a lot less time in the book than I had expected. Maybe there is more of him in the second? I don’t know, I’ve not read that one either. One day I will remedy that too, no doubt.

For now… this is odd. I find it difficult to recommend this book. The others, no hesitation. This one… I’m not so sure.

