Home > fantasy > Making Money by Terry Pratchett

Making Money by Terry Pratchett

July 2, 2008

Sadly, this could very well be the last Discworld novel. If nothing else, reading this book proved to me just how much room there is in this setting for more stories.

This book continues on from Going Postal, with the ex-fraudster Moist now bored with his position has Postmaster General. Lord Vetinari transfers Moist from the Post Office to the Royal Bank, to sort things out there.

This is where the story went elsewhere from my expectations. I had thought I would read a similar story to Going Postal, except set in a bank. In Going Postal, developments over decades in post offices here were compressed into just a few days. All high-energy fun. There’s nothing really similar here. Moist’s first big idea has barely gotten going by the time the story ends.

In many ways Making Money is more about Vetinari than about Moist. Who is this man who can exercise such effective control over a vast city like Ankh-Morpork, and how does he do it?

Making Money is another enjoyable Discworld book, but on balance one of the lighter ones. The tension of Thud! is absent here, likewise the drama of Wintersmith. An enjoyable read, but unlikely to make anyone’s ‘top 3 Discworld novels’ list.

  1. sueper
    July 13, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Why the last novel? I know Terry is ill but he has promised to keep on writing as long as he is able and at the rate he writes I think we will have a few more yet.

  2. davekay
    July 16, 2008 at 9:07 am

    I think this will be the last Discworld book. There is a forthcoming Pratchett novel, but it’s not set in Discworld. I don’t expect any more after that.

  3. bessabariangirl
    January 17, 2009 at 3:32 am

    He’s had an early onset of Alzheimers or something like that and doesn’t want to write a dodgey book
    I wasn’t aware of ‘Going Postal’ damn now i have to read it backwards lol
    I wrote a list of my favourite quotes from the book at http://bessabariangirl.wordpress.com/2009/01/16/favourite-terry-pratchett-quotes-from-making-money/

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
