Home > science fiction > The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams

July 18, 2008

Reading the second Hitchhikers book leads me to a conclusion – Douglas Adams is the master of the anti-climax. Climactic events are something he goes out of his way to avoid. If they have to happen, then everyone just ignores it anyway, or orders another round of drinks.

It took, the possible answer to the ultimate question, combined with a meeting with the man who secretly runs the universe, for me to come to this conclusion, but there it is. No climax. You may draw whatever conclusion you wish from this observation, I stand by it. In fact it makes the other Douglas Adams books I have read make more sense.

Restaurant… is a direct continuation of the story from the first book, and sets up the beginning of the thirds book, at least. We also get to encounter Disaster Area, the galaxy’s greatest rock band. Who could ask for more?

  1. Peter Grant
    August 11, 2008 at 7:18 am

    I’m also a big fan of Douglas Adams. Read all his books. Perhaps you will enjoy reading some of my science fiction stories: http://scifiwriter.wordpress.com/ Please let me know what you think.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
