Home > non-fiction > Only One…

Only One…

September 1, 2008

As a mental exercise, I’ve been thinking about what book I would choose, if I could only have one to read. If I were stranded on that eponymous desert island with one book, what would I like that book to be?

Books such as Quicksilver or A Game of Thrones are out, not matter how good I don’t want the first book in a series if I can’t read the next.

The shortlist I came up with was:

A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson. This book is good, and best of all benefits from a good slow read. There’s a lot of information here and while it is well written and readily digestible, a nice slow read gives you time to digest what you’re being fed.

Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson. This one is a modern classic. If I had to read one book over and over, I could do a lot worse than this one.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery. A short book, but a filling one. This work of 20th century philosophy rewards a patient reader.

Catch 22 by Joseph Heller. Another 20th century novel I would recommend to anyone. Though now I think on it, maybe it’s a little too full of despair for the situaiton. It does end on a positive note though, a chance of freedom.

Once I’d considered this list though, I realised that what I really wanted was reams of blank paper and a mountian of pencils. With all that time on my hands, I’d rather use it to create then consume.

Categories: non-fiction Tags:
  1. Ev-Man
    September 4, 2008 at 11:12 am

    DK, A Short History? Hella yeah! That book rocks! Where will I find Snow Crash? Ev-Man

  2. davekay
    September 12, 2008 at 9:17 am

    In my hands, the next time we have lunch

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
